#Q – Quidditch Through the Ages by Kennilworthy Whisp (J. K. Rowling)


Thanks to Dhivya Balaji,  writing this post for my blog. Of course, I adore her for many reasons, and the first being her knowledge in Harry Potter Universe. I am sure no one can do justice to this blog post the way she has done. You can check her blog out here.

Genre: Sports Fantasy

Image result for quidditch through the ages

About the Book:

Quidditch Through the Ages is a 2001 book written by British author J K Rowling under the pseudonym Kennilworthy Whisp. It was written to benefit the charity organisation called Comic Relief. And more than 80% of the proceeds from the book’s sales go to the poor children in various places of the world. The companion book, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (which was the basis of a movie recently) and this together have raised £17 Million.

The book has a foreword by Albus Dumbledore, once headmaster of the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. It is declared as a part of the Hogwarts Library.

Memories:

The Harry Potter series is arguably one of my most favourite book series ever, and I have read enough books for that to be of some considerable mention. The book series gave rise to an entire generation of fans who called themselves ‘Potterheads’ in the honour of the series and not a day goes by when some new angle or fan theory is not found for this series. Having run out of original material ages ago (the original series was just 7 books), fans started looking for additional material. QTTA was the answer to this need, albeit with another good intention.

I read this book for the first time in 2014 after I came across a question in a quiz that asked about the total number of fouls allowed in a game of Quidditch – a detail I knew was never mentioned in the original books. My search drew me to this book and needless to say I loved it, for it answered that question and more I never knew I had in my mind.

Add your thoughts! They will make me Smile :)

