#O – Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens


Genre: Classic Social Fiction

About the book:

The story revolves around the life of an orphan named Oliver Twist. He starts his life in a workhouse, and he is eventually sold into apprenticeship with a certain undertaker. While Twist manages to escape from there and travel to London, he meets a member from a gang of underage pickpockets. This gradually leads him to meet an elderly criminal, Fagin. From then on, it is a world of crimes and theft. How he manages to survive forms the rest of the story.

Memories:

In my tenth grade, I had Christmas Carol for prose in my English subject. Impressed by the play, I asked my English teacher for suggestions on books to read by Dickens. She suggested Oliver Twist and Tale of Two Cities. It took me almost a year to slowly read the unabridged versions of these two books. So, yeah, that’s a lovely memory for me.

Add your thoughts! They will make me Smile :)

