FictionCrate – Book Subscription Box – My Thoughts


Hello, Folks,

Firstly, apologies for being off the blogging radar for quite sometime now. As most of you all know, I have been undergoing a lot of personal issues. And for the first time, the “monsters in my head” seem scarier than “the ones under my bed.” Nevertheless, I am trying my best to fight them. Coming back to this blog post, I am glad that FictionCrate.comΒ has sent me a book subscription box in the month of April for review.

Yes, a new startup based in India, Fictioncrate is a book subscription box. For those who don’t know how it works, you just subscribe to the service and receive goodies every month as long as you have subscribed. Pretty cool, isn’t it? Well, I am a huge fan of subscription boxes. I consider them as a gift from me to me – awesome, isn’t it? What’s more, you can also just subscribe it for a month or three months, if you are intending to gift your friend something. Wow, how cool is that?

While I have used many fashion subscriptions boxes in the past, I have not tried book subscription boxes in India. However, I have heard that they are quite expensive (starting from 800 INR per month) 😦 When I went through fictioncrate website, I realized that they are quite affordable – Starts from 499 per month.

So, how does this thingy work?

It’s pretty simple. All you have to do is to open their website and subscribe to one of their existing plans. They have 2 boxes and 2 subscription plans in each. I received the Premium plan and it had a book, a bookmark, and a tee-shirt. If you opt for the classic plan, you would be getting a book and goodies like bookmarks, badges, etc. They are also sending a handwritten note as of now to all the subscribers. Yay!!!!

What did I receive?

This πŸ™‚

You can pick your tee-shirt size when you order for the box – I took something that is long enough to be paired with a pair of leggings or treggings. I am so happy with the writing on the tee-shirt – “A Book A Day Keeps Reality Away” – So true, ain’t it?

The book I received is “The Woman in Cabin 10” by Ruth Ware. I love crime thrillers, and this book was an absolute page turner. I so felt that even I couldn’t have picked a better gift for myself than this book. I would soon review this book in GoodReads – I am done reading this already πŸ™‚

Btw, you get to choose the genre you want – so don’t worry!

Do I recommend?

Yes, definitely. If you are a bibliophile, just go ahead and subscribe to this box already. What’s more, the shipping is free (which is a welcome relief for me)

Will I re-purchase?

Obviously. I just hope that the brand keeps up the quality of goods and service the same πŸ™‚

Okay, with this, I say Au Revoir (yes, I passed my French first level and taking up the second level exams next month – pretty excited and nervous as well)

Stri

Add your thoughts! They will make me Smile :)

