Open Eyed Meditations: A Book Review


Ha, the happiness of being back with a book review! It’s been a rocky fortnight. In fact, as you all know, it has been a rocky year, but then I am holding on tight to my hopes and dreams – that’s the most you can do when things topple. I was glad to have received this book for review right at the time I was expecting something refreshing and profound to read. Without further ado, here is the book blurb!

Open-eyed Meditations is a beautiful compilation of thoughts wherein each meditation takes you on a journey to the past, bringing a secret herb to heal a problem of the present. A true distillation of ancient wisdom tips for modern lives, this unique self-help book uses the wisdom of the Ramayana and the Mahabharata to solve your everyday problems. Beyond the storyline, something deeper is waiting to be discovered from these ancient texts. This book is an attempt to uncover the hidden layer of wealth that is cleverly packaged within the commonly known storylines.

If you are feeling down, read this book. If you are feeling too high, read this book. This is not a book that you must pick when you are in mood to read fantasies and fictions – this book is for the souls that has been scarred and scared. The book draws inspirations from real life scenarios – there is no fiction there. I am a great lover of fiction. However, when it comes to reality, fiction causes only false hopes. If you are looking for a book that compiles day-to-day activities in an inspirational manner, read this book. You will be surprised pleasantly.

Meditation is something that I cannot afford to do. The moment I close my eyes, thousand tabs open in my mind. For me, reading is my solace, my meditation, and my comfort zone. This book is perfect when you want to have a reading meditation. The stories are clear and lucid. There is no complex, mind-provoking narration. In fact, unlike many books that claim to ease your mind, this book doesn’t preach – it just talks to you.

I already have adored and reviewed Shubha Vilas’ previous novel – read it here! The author has an amazing writing style that will make you feel awww all through the book. You can take in a lot of messages from this book – from how to find happiness even in a mundane life to how to handle stress in the craziest of the situations – you will be able to learn it all.

My advice would be to read this book with an open mind. Some things may not make sense to you and some might. If you are a fan of Ramayana or Mahabharatha, like I am, then this book is for you.

Do I recommend? Yes, most definitely.

Rating: 4.5/5

Bottom line: A great book to read if you want to practice meditation via reading – like I do. As the title suggests, the book is an eye opener!

This review is a part of the biggest Book Review Program for Indian Bloggers. Participate now to get free books!

Add your thoughts! They will make me Smile :)

