Chronicler Of The Undead – A Book Review


Hi, folks,

I really need to finish all these book reviews & event posts that are long pending. However, with rains, rehabilitation work, and now my vacation had made me procrastinate these. This is one book that I was hoping to review for a month now.

This book, “Chronicler of the Undead” by Mainak Dhar is unputdownable. Yes that’s the one word for it.

image

Book Blurb: When there were still people around to talk to, I would introduce myself as a drinker with a writing problem. It sounded witty at the time, and certainly got a smile once in a while from the ladies. None of that matters now. There are no people left to read my books, and nobody left to listen to my attempts at wit. Now it’s just me, sitting in my house on the hill, watching the undead rampage through what we humans once called our world. I sometimes wonder why I still live when those much younger, stronger, smarter and fitter than me perished. Maybe it’s just dumb luck. But maybe I am being left alive for a purpose. Nobody may have cared much for my novel, but maybe this is what I was meant to write. Maybe this is what I was meant to be. The chronicler of the undead. This is my story. 

Stri’s Take On It: This book is definitely not everyone’s genre. For starters, this book is about Zombies in India, something that isn’t well explored in India, until now. Secondly, this is not an horror or a mystery, but yeah the boom is a fast paced page turner, though. The story is well-structured into short chapters, thereby increasing interest. Also, the novel elaborately describes the surroundings in way that both people who know Gangtok & those who doesn’t will equally understand and correlate to it.

Wows:
1. Fast paced thriller: The book is unputdownable.
2. Language & narration: The language & narration are quite brilliant and correlatable.

Oops:
1. After an interesting start, the story loses pace and deviates for a few chapters, if you sit through those chapters, the story then moves in a thrilling manner.

Rating: 4/5
Do I recommend? Yes
Bottom line: A worthy read if you prefer reading thriller fiction.

This book is a part of book review program by Writersmelon.

Read other book reviews by me here.

To get your books or products reviewed, message here.

Cheers,
Stri

Add your thoughts! They will make me Smile :)

