Why We Love The Way We Do – Preeti Shenoy: A Book Review


Hi, folks,

This might probably be the first review of this book that you might be reading. All thanks to Preeti for sending her latest (seventh) and her first non-fiction novel, Why We Love The Way We Do to me even before its release. Before, I get into the review, here are the details of the book.

Title: Why We Love The Way We Do
Genre: Non-Fiction, Relationships
Author: Preeti Shenoy
Paperback: 276 pages
Publisher: Westland (16 November 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 9385724185
ISBN-13: 978-9385724183
Product Dimensions: 21.4 x 14.9 x 1.9 cm

Pre-order here to get free copies: Amazon.

https://i2.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51qA-S5J-lL._SX316_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Disclaimer: The author sent me this book as a token of love, and the review here is honest, unbiased, and completely based on my opinion.

When this book’s title and genre was announced, my brother said, “Arey, why is Preeti Shenoy writing a Non-Fiction? Fiction is her forte. She shouldn’t try like these. I even voted for fiction.”

I replied, “Yes, even I voted for fiction, but I guess many others voted for Non-Fiction. Also, I have read couple of her columns from “Sex and the City,” they are pretty good.”

After the book was open for pre-ordering, to my surprise Preeti pinged me telling that she would be sending me a signed copy as a token of love. I am her ardent fan and follower. I was happy and shared the news with fellow bloggers. One of those bloggers asked, “Isn’t Preeti Shenoy the Indian Rowling?”

Frankly, they are two of my favorite authors and both are way different from each other, so I can’t compare them at all. Well, you kinda get about the whole thing here right? In a precise way, Preeti Shenoy has her new book released and the expectations are sky-high.

Stri’s Take On It:

The book is separated into seven parts, finding the one, getting hitched, when things go wrong, on men and women, let’s talk, three to tango, between the sheets. They deal with things like getting into a relationship, taking the relationship from love to wedding, break-ups, gender differences, communication problems between couples, extra-marital affair, and sex.

In total there are 56 chapters, and you can read any column first as they are not continuous or something. Before I tell you what this book does, let me tell you what it doesn’t. The book doesn’t preach, advice, or manipulate you. I can’t even tell that this book motivates you about your boring love life. Instead, it flashes the truth underneath your perception of love. Everyone of us have a perception of love, but we don’t realize that it is a perception until it’s too late. This book tells you what you have been doing wrong the whole time.

Unlike some non-fiction, where the book’s author acts like a Love Guru, this book is just bland reality that has happened to the author, her acquaintances, her friends, or someone she knew. I was excepting real life stories like Chicken Soup, but the author made sure that this book is as unique as possible. She had compared human relationship and its stages to works of art, literature, history, and even music.

WOWS:

  1. This book is not from a girl’s point of view. It is neutral. This is a major thing that many guys would be afraid while buying a non fiction by a lady author and vice-versa.
  2. The narrative, the writing style, the words – they just move me and they will move you.
  3. The book is well compiled in a nice sequence. The editing has added more charm.
  4. Some chapters make you nod in agreement, some make you go “ooo” in surprise and some make you go “aaah” in shock. This is a complete entertainer.
  5. Although, the book has plenty of references to history and arts, the author described in depth for the naive readers.
  6. This is so for the modern lovers. If you are right now swiping left or right on your phone while reading this review, then you should be the one reading this book.
  7. Despite the fact that this book is about love, adultery, relationships, and sex, this is suitable for all readers (definitely not children) as the words are subtle yet strong.

OOPS:

  1. This is not exactly a con, but if you are a person who has zero knowledge or interest in arts and literature, then you might not enjoy the book as much as I did.

Bottomline: If you are looking for a refreshing read about love, no matter if you are 20 or 40, grab this book.

Do I recommend? Yes!

Rating: 4.5/5

Keep Reading,

sign

If you haven’t yet followed or liked me over Blogovin|IndiBlogger|Facebook|Instagram|Twitter|YouTube– then please do it, it will make my day!

One thought on “Why We Love The Way We Do – Preeti Shenoy: A Book Review

  1. Abhilash says:

    I have Already read the book..
    I just Love dis book to d Core…
    It makes me feel like some chapters relates exactly to my present situation…
    I feel @Right Time I have read Right book…
    Thanks Preeti….
    Keep Writing.
    With Love,
    Abhi..

    Like

Add your thoughts! They will make me Smile :)

