Nioxin Hair Care Kit 5: A Review


Hi, gorgeous people,

I wrote a post about Nioxin Launch in Chennai in association with BlogAdda. There I said that I will post the review of the product and here it goes. The kit that I was suggested by hair expert was Kit 5 – Normal & Thick Hair.

Did I like the product? Will I repurchase it? Am I recommending it? Read on:

What the company claims: System 5 is specially designed for normal to thin-looking, medium to coarse, natural or chemically-treated hair. It delivers smoothing control to hair while refreshing the scalp and restoring moisture balance.

What is inside the kit: Cleanser, Scalp Therapy, Scalp Treatment.

Technologies used: Glyco-Shield, Transactive Delivery System, Smoothplex

The cleanser helps to remove follicle-clogging sebum , fatty acids and environmental residues from the scalp skin and hair. Cleanses to provide thicker-looking hair.

Scalp therapy is a lightweight conditioner that helps provide hair resilience and control moisture balance.

Scalp treatment contains antioxidants and botanicals that help to provide a refreshed scalp environment.

Glyco Shield: With white tea extract , humectants , peppermint oil, and protective conditioning agents. Dual shield technology helps provide protection and moisture balance to color-treated hair, and leaves the scalp feeling rejuvenated and refreshed.

Transactive Delivery System: With antioxidants, botanicals, vitamins, and purifying agents. Helps clean away follicle-clogging sebum and environmental residues from the scalp skin, giving a clean and refreshed feeling.

Smoothplex: With silk amino acids, kukui nut oil , and protective conditioning agents. Helps provide moisture balance and smoothing control, reducing hair loss by strengthening against damage and breakage.

My Take on Nioxin Kit 5:

This kit did just one thing to my hair/head: coolness. The methanol kept my scalp cool for up to 30 minutes post hair wash. Apart from that this product was a disaster. I don’t review products that don’t work for me as they might work for others, but as this is a product sent by the company for honest review, I am bound to post this review.

As I said, the only positive was coolness, the OOPS were:

  1. Itchy scalp – I never had itchy scalp before even if I don’t wash my hair for 2 days straight. After using this product for 2 times, I felt that I am feeling itchy on my scalp with 6-8 hours of shampooing.
  2. Harsh chemicals – I don’t know if it is the SLS or any other chemical that is present, the kit made my scalp red 😦
  3. Hair fall – I have very minimal hair fall, but after using this kit, I could see visible hair fall in just two washes, and I am definitely not liking it.
  4. Rough hair, no moisture – Although it claims to keep hair moist, this product dried out my hair, and it looked like haystacks/straw after the wet hair dries.

However, this seemed to have worked really well for many of my fellow bloggers who attended the event, some of them felt neutral about this, and a couple of them didn’t like it, just like me. So, I cannot really recommend or not recommend this product. Consult a trichologist or visit Bounce Salon and then take a wise decision.

Rate: Rs. 2399 for 150 ml shampoo+150 ml conditioner+50 ml serum

~Stay Gorgeous,
Stri

If you haven’t yet followed or liked me over Blogovin|IndiBlogger|Facebook|Instagram|Twitter|YouTube– then please do it, it will make my day!

Add your thoughts! They will make me Smile :)

