Ganga Bharani’s A Minute To Death: A Book Review


Hi, Folks,

I got hold of this book just today, and I have finished reading it in 2 hours. What’s more interesting is I am reviewing it immediately. I have 10 books lined up for review, but still I wanted to read and review this first. There are two reasons for that:
1. The book is a thriller
2. The author is my good friend.

When she asked if I would like to give an unbiased, honest review of her book, I was more than happy. I have already read her previous book Just you, me, and a secret and I liked it. It was a fresh and poignant tale. With very good hopes, I started this book. Did the author live up to my expectation?

About the Book:

Title: A Minute To Death
Pages: 116
Rate: 175 INR
Publisher: Half Baked Beans
ISBN: 978-93-84315-07-8
Author: Ganga Bharani

Blurb: Murder most foul or an open-and-shut case of routine suicide?

Young, vivacious and an aspiring writer, Riya wants nothing more from her longtime crush/boyfriend than to let her in on one of his exciting investigations. After all, what better source material for a book than a real life tragedy?

No-nonsense veteran cop, Rohan picks a case of probable suicide to satisfy Riya’s needs. Little does he know that there is more to this case than meets the eye.

What made the victim hang herself at the break of dawn? What is the secret that her group of friends is hiding? Will Riya be able to salvage a workable plot for her upcoming novel out of this case of seemingly simple suicide?

Stri’s Take On It: It’s been so long I read an Indian author write a crime fiction that was a page turner. The last one I read was may be Seduced By Murder. This book was promising as I liked this author’s previous book. The author didn’t disappoint me. The book was indeed a page turner and a book that made me glued to it.

The story starts with a no nonsense girl Riya visiting a crime scene where her ‘boyfriend’ Rohan is investigating. She asks him to tag her along in every bit of the investigation so that she can write her first novel. However, the case they investigate seems to be an open-shut suicide, except for one confusing evidence. While they are still on this, they have a new situation to handle. To complicate things, there are more clues popping up.

The author has tried to follow the Knox’s Decalogue (Golden Age Of Detective Fiction) to a certain extent, although not fully. This is an interesting and noteworthy thing about the novel.

WOWS:

1. It is an unputdownable thriller.
2. The climax is quite unpredictable.
3. The author’s narration keeps you engrossed and there is no unnecessary, boring drama or scenes in the book.
4. As mentioned earlier, the author had tried to follow Knox’s Decalogue (I am yet to ask her if she knowingly followed it or unknowingly her story turned out to follow the commandments).
5. The author has a unique style. While most authors write to become the next Dan Brown, next Preeti Shenoy, or next Chetan Bhagat, Ganga Bharani will be the first GB. She has a unique style.

OOPS:

1. Too many grammatical, casing, and gender usage issues that could have been easily avoided. The author however did give me an heads up that the first edition did have accidental print issues and they are changing them in the reprints.
2. The author’s narration seems to go a little awry while she transits from thriller scenes to romantic scenes and vice-versa. While this transition happens, there seems to be a blank, vague feel in the narration, which is otherwise brilliant.

Buy book here: Amazon & Flipkart

Do I recommend? YES!!!! The book is releasing on July 23, 2015
Rating: 4/5
Bottom Line: A fast paced thriller with a social message. 3 Cheers for its enthralling climax.

Book sent by author for honest review

Read other book reviews by me here.

To get your books or products reviewed, message here.

Cheers,
Stri

If you haven’t yet followed or liked me over Blogovin|IndiBlogger|Facebook|Twitter|Instagram – then please do it, it will make my day!

Add your thoughts! They will make me Smile :)

