Arjun: Without A Doubt – A Book Review


Hi, Folks,

After my super awesome (read: tiresome) trip to multiple places (blog post coming soon), I finally got to lay my hands on this novel which was sent by BlogAdda. A big thanks to Dr. Sweety Shinde for her signed copy. Most of you might know that mythology, especially Indian mythology, amuses me greatly. So, reading this book was the best thing happened post trip.

arjun-without-a-doubt-sweety-book-review

Blurb:

I knew there was nothing poetic about death. I knew not that the most horrific battles are fought off the battlefield.

Arjun: The idealist in a non-ideal world; the warrior whose deadliest opponent was his conscience. History forgot his voice, but misquoted his silence.

My self-esteem originates from me and ends in me. Why does your honor depend on me? Find your own.

Draupadi: The untamed tigress, the fragrant flame, the unbridled spirit.

Power does not justify sin. Power is not virtue. Virtue is that which lasts in spite of power.

Krishn: The enigma whose unique ideology churned the battlefield into a quest for Truth.

The Missile…The Trajectory…The Vision. The trio that makes for the core of The Mahabharata. This is their saga. Insightful, visceral and candid.

About the author:

Dr. Shinde Sweety holds a Doctorate in Medicine. She is an avid Mahabharata fan, voracious reader, yoga enthusiast, student of Spanish and yearns to learn Sanskrit. Personally, Dr Shinde Sweety is skilled at pencil sketching, loves to daydream and swim. She is curious about the Mystic & Mystique, crazy about soulful music and content to be cocooned in a dream world.

You can connect with the author below-

Blog

Facebook

Goodreads

Plot:

It is Mahabarat, and I hope most of us would be knowing the plot. The author hasn’t changed or given a different perspective to the basic story or screenplay, but she has shown the lesser known, lesser discussed scenes of the same. The best thing about rewriting these epics to suit contemporary audience is that you would have a lot to probe into, a lot to mind-storm, and a lot more to convey. This book basically is from perspectives of Arjuna and Draupadi, with heavy importance to Krishna (he is special always, isn’t he?) The story starts with Arjun attending the Swayamvar of Draupadi disguised as a Brahman and proceeds forward.

WOWS:

1. The writing style – Despite being contemporary, the author did complete justice to rewriting the epic.
2. The language – Most of the epics rewritten in English makes you feel void as we are so used to read it in the regional languages or Sanskrit, but in this book, the author balances the language with the epic story prudently.

OOPS:

Nothing I could think of.

Special mention: There are a plenty of quotes in the book that are truly awe-inspiring, and revealing them here would not be a spoiler exactly, but I really want you readers to read the book completely. (I personally like the way Arjun describes Darupadi in first couple of chapters 😛 )

Do I recommend? Interested in Mahabarat? Then, please go and grab this book.

Rating: 4.5/5

Bottom line: I always thought that Arjun was the real hero of Mahabarat, and my mom said that I am being partial just like Draupadi. I even wanted to read a version of Mahabarat from Arjun’s POV, and ta-da Thanks to Sweety Shinde that I got to see that marvelous perspective.

This review is a part of the biggest Book Review Program for Indian Bloggers. Participate now to get free books!

Love,
Stri

Get your books reviewed by me. Contact here.
Read more book reviews here.

Add your thoughts! They will make me Smile :)

