Ramayana – The Game of Life by Shubha Vilas: A Book Review


Hi, Folks,

I used to keep on giving subtle and not-so-subtle hints to my friends that I love to read mythology and thriller (here is another duh-hint, in case you don’t know yet), I guess BlogAdda guys did hear it, yeah, I got this book “Ramayana – The Game of Life” by Shubha Vilas from them to review. I am super happy to review this one.

ramayanalife final

The book cover reads:

Shattered Dreams is the sequel to the national bestseller, Rise of the Sun Prince, in the new spiritual and motivational series Ramayana-The Game Of Life.Twelve joyful years have passed in Ayodhya since the wedding of Rama and Sita at the end of Book 1.

Now, in Shattered Dreams, Shubha Vilas narrates the riveting drama of Rama’s exile.Through tales of Rama’s unwavering and enigmatic persona, the book teaches us how to handle reversals positively; through Bharata’s actions, it teaches us to handle temptation; and through Sita’s courage, to explore beyond our comfort zone.This complicated family drama provides deep insights on how human relationships work and how they fail.

With Valmiki’s Ramayana as its guiding light, Shattered Dreams deftly entwines poetic beauty from the Kamba Ramayana and Ramacharitramanas,as well as folk philosophy from the Lokapramana tales, to demonstrate how the ancient epic holds immediate relevance to modern life. Experience the ancient saga of the Ramayana like never before!

My Take on the Book:

As a kid, I grew up listening multiple versions of the Mahabharata and Ramayana. Even now, when having dinner, my mom and I discuss about the lessons that each of these epics tell us. However, I never gathered up courage to read the whole epic as a whole, but thanks to Shubha Vilas for making the big and tedious looking Ramayana into a lovely break-up of simple chapters.

What I liked a lot was that the book apart from the story there was a lot of footnotes that kinda was like a guide to living for modern era.

The book starts after 12 years of marriage of Ram to Sita, Dasaratha feels the fear of death and tries to crown Ram as the King, and the story moves on from there.

WOWs:

1. The footnotes – enough said

2. The beautiful description of each character and teaching lessons through each one’s behavior.

3. The simplification of complicated terms and concepts used in the original.

4. Maintaining the original story, still trying to do justice to the various other forms of Ramayana.

OOPS:

Not that I found much of drawbacks in this book. Who am I too find flaws in the Epic; however, the language was bit off at bits and pieces. I guess that what happens when an Indian mythology is brought in English. If this book is translated/written originally in Tamil, Sanskrit, or Hindi, then the impact on readers would have been more.

Bottom line:

A must read book for the Gen-Y people who want to read the Epic but couldn’t do so due to the size of the original books. Shubha Vilas manages to hit the right chord in all aspects of story writing. Kudos for writing the Epic in such a simple form.

Rating: 4/5

Do I recommend?

Yes, if you want to read the Epic in a simple and contemporary form.

This review is part of the BlogAdda’s Book Review Program for Indian Bloggers. Participate now to get free books!

P.S: Dear BlogAdda guys, this book took me the whole of my seven days to relish and read word by word 😛 😀 Still I want to read it once again and relish.

~Love,

Stri

To get your books reviewed by me, message here.

2 thoughts on “Ramayana – The Game of Life by Shubha Vilas: A Book Review

Add your thoughts! They will make me Smile :)

