Seven Things To Do To Beat Single-o-Phobia


Hi Folks,

It’s the first time I am blogging on a Sunday *phew*. Sundays are meant to be wild for me but curse the Chennai’s scorching heat, I am sick with sun sickness, yeah a weird illness that I get in summers πŸ˜₯ I am staying home, healthily eating curd rice, drinking mom made coffee, and nagging my nephew. Finally, I woke up from my cozy bed and thought of penning up something.

So, single!!! That’s a mixed emotions term, for a few it’s enjoyable and for many it’s scary. If you have been in love and had a break up then single can be the best or the worst state (depends on who initiated the break up). So, let the bygones be bygones, you had a break up what’s next? Stalk him/her, drool in their memories, or try the archaic Devdas way of drinks? Nah, all are just too dumb. Instead here is a compilation of top 7 things to do after a break up (none of them involves another affair or love) to cure or get rid of single-o-phobia (fear of being singled out).

7. Learn a new language: Languages are intriguing. They involve your time, concentration, and efforts. Additionally, you will have a feel that you did something productive. If you are allergic to languages, go for tech certifications or other stuffs like learning a new stuff related to your work.

6. Yoga/Work-Out: All those cream center, cookie man calories accumulated during your lovely times, those fat stored because of those posh dates in Little Italy, Raintree, etc this is the time to burn them away along with your ex’s memories.

5. Spa: When was the last time you groomed up yourself for yourself? You might have hit the trendiest salon to look chick for him or hunk for her but when was the last time you really did something you liked? Remember that short bob cut you always wanted but never did because he likes your hair? Or that tattoo of your favorite band or football team that you wanted but didn’t do because she hates it? Get it done.

4. Parents: All those sleepless nights on call, weekend dates, late night parties with them. In middle of all those, did you recollect that you never had a proper day-out or day-in with your parents?? What are you waiting for? Go to their favorite restaurant, go on a family tour or short trip, spend some time with them. There is nothing as relieving as mom’s lap or dad’s forehead kisses.

3. Siblings/Cousins therapy: Trust me, this shit seriously works. Have a cousin or sibling who you can trust with? Rant to them, cry to them if you wish to, badmouth (its okay to badmouth) about your ex if you feel like, and finally have a night out and watch movies, play those childhood games (poker, uno, gully cricket, ludo – yeah it works).

2. BFFs: “If not for my BFFs, I would have been a corpse ages ago”, who said this thoughtful quote? Don’t know? It’s me. Yeah! Okay don’t hurt your fist or your monitor. Remove those facepalms and read on. Take a trip with friends and enjoy. Experiment a random city, or a familiar city. My suggestion is Goa, alternatively if you are interested in wildlife sanctuaries try Bandipur. Get indulged in the awesomeness of the trip.

1. You, it’s all about you: Enjoy your lonely time (now all you dirty minds, get back to the topic. I swear on my unborn children that there was no pun intended). Well, take time to know yourself. Jot down your strengths and weaknesses. Try improvising career and personality wise. Most importantly, chocolates and chocolate ice creams are permanent fixes. Go on a self pampering mode. Buy yourself some nice goodies like those Reebok shoes, converse sneakers, body shop body butter, etc.

Are you asking me, “Will these make me forget him/her? Will the pain go away?” Well, the frank response is, “Hell, No. However, these are antiseptics that will stop your wound from contaminating rest of your body.”

Finally remember, don’t hesitate to fall in love. Love isn’t wrong, the person you loved would have been wrong or maybe the circumstances were wrong. Fall in love again but only when you are ready, not because you are single.

Love & Cheers,

S(t)ri,

I am S(t)ri

49 thoughts on “Seven Things To Do To Beat Single-o-Phobia

  1. Meenu Iyer says:

    haha good one…. God’s grace i ve nt faced all this till date and dont want to in future….. a typical desi tambrahm arranged marriage i feel is fine fr ppl lik me… πŸ˜›

    Like

  2. Dinesh Kumar Radhakrishnan says:

    πŸ™‚ Intensity varies, depends on how deep the both were in love and then after a break up how the estranged souls feel. Typically, if one really needs to save the love and another leaves him/her abruptly, there starts the pain.

    One thing is an absolute truth in your words, one cannot do anything when the circumstances changes the beloved one forever and if they turn upside down. So, Love is not wrong, but persons could be.

    Apart from the 7 points I would suggest anyone a serious deal to change any breakup/failure, that is “Chase your Ambition, if you don’t have, set one and Chase, Live for it, true love will find it’s way into your life; don’t chase love again”

    Like

  3. Uma Suganya says:

    Hi Sri…
    I never miss to read your blog as I feel boosted up when I finish reading it…
    And todays’, it was most astonishing and the blog is highlighted by the lines “Love isn’t wrong, the person you loved would have been wrong or may be the circumstances were wrong”. Really sensational. Suites well for many people. Hope #5 & 6 goes well for girls…Best wishes..Keep doing it. πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Shalzzz says:

    Beautiful thoughts!! πŸ™‚ And yeah, I have been there to πŸ˜› I guess, chocolate helps!! That’s what I did when my ex was married πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Uma Suganya says:

    Hi Sri…I regularly read your blogs to boost up myself when I feel down. And todays’ is really astonishing. Hope #5 & 6 works good for girls. Great job!!! Keep doing it.

    Like

  6. christinapertz1 says:

    A great list! I am single again after almost 5 years. It took me awhile to admit that my boyfriend was not right for me. I had thought for the first 2 years he was and that we were meant to be. And then it slowly started changing and then it became downright awful and I finally had the courage to make a change. I had no idea being away from him- wouldn’t even bother me. I am so much happier now on my own. I cannot wait to try new things and do things that he never would have done with me (which is a longer list than I had realized)! Here’s to a great summer 2014!!! Thanks πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Harshita Srivastava says:

    I was directed here through Alok Vats’s recent post. This is indeed a great post. The protagonist of my debut work actually tries getting out of her inhibitions and does some crazy stuff that her ex didn’t including trying alcohol. She spends maximum time with friends, involves herself with her passion and goes on blind dates as well πŸ˜€
    And I completely agree with Sumitha, we should never lose faith in love!
    The ideas listed by you are perfect. This post is going to help a lot of people. Wish you all the luck for your upcoming work πŸ™‚

    Like

    • S(t)ri says:

      Hi Harshitha, Welcome to my blog πŸ™‚ I am glad to know that you found the list perfect. I am also eager to read your debut work, it sounds interesting πŸ™‚ All the best to you too.

      Like

  8. Alok Vats says:

    Great thought Sri, yes summers in Chennai becomes difficult to cope up with, but then it is more or less similar to spending time even in Delhi in summers.

    Great tips in the post, I guess I too have written something similar to. One point which I want to include over here is that you might be interested in reading. Reading in itself is a very good activity and will never allow you to feel like I am single. Anyone can develop this habit of reading, no matter what you are going to read. Read some book, read magazines, read e-books, or read some interesting blogs like iamstri.wordpress.com you won’t even get the time to think about I am single. πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Vageesan says:

    Yet another practical, realistic blog πŸ™‚ Nice one πŸ™‚ (Though it feels at some instances like a philosophical advice :P) Anyways… this is reality… and everyone needs this πŸ™‚ Option 1 seems to be very good πŸ™‚ Should find Pinki lal sate and learn hindi πŸ˜› πŸ˜€

    Like

  10. Karthik Param says:

    Siblings/Cousins therapy !

    Yeah it worked for me too !! apart from all these write, write all your emotions, if not a blog or in fb, atleast write a diary is what should be the eighth point

    And I’ve started waiting for your next posts, sign me a autograph soon madame

    Like

    • S(t)ri says:

      Hey KP,
      Thanks a lot and yeah Writing a Journal should be the first point. I would add it up to the post. Somehow it evaded me. Rudhran waiting for my posts is like a huge compliment. Thanks a lot. The autograph thing is tooooo huge compliment and it is mutual, i want two autographs, one as KP and other as Rudhran πŸ™‚ Don’t forget to sign when we meet up.

      Like

  11. sumitha says:

    don’t hesitate to fall in love. Love isn’t wrong, the person you loved would have been wrong or maybe the circumstances were wrong. Fall in live again but only when you are ready, not because you are single// Awesome lines πŸ™‚ such a good post on break-up πŸ™‚

    Like

Add your thoughts! They will make me Smile :)

