Life, Love, and the Jigsaw Puzzle


Life is a Jigsaw Puzzle

Life is a Jigsaw Puzzle

Sailesh sat next to Sanjana on the couch in his house. She brushed his hair softly and places her head gently on his shoulders and asked, “Can I lie on your shoulders?” He nodded with a little smile. As they munched the French fries in front of them she asked, “What do you think about us?” He didn’t reply for a moment, she titled her head and gazed at him. He kissed on her forehead and said, “I really like you but I am confused and I don’t think I can get into any relationship right now. Not even a casual one.” Sanjana’s face drooled a little and keeping a puppy face she asked, “Why so?”

“Why you ask this even when you know the answer? Aparna – after her I can’t love anyone. She dances in my mind. I still can’t accept the fact that she is dead”, he said in a voice full of depression. Sanjana gave a soft hug and said, “Why don’t you remove that wall which you have built around you? She is dead but you aren’t. I do accept when people die they don’t die alone. A part of you dies with them, but you should lower the wall which you built so that the lost part of yours will get a rebirth.” He didn’t know what to reply yet he managed to say, “You don’t get it Sanju, there is dark grey area in my heart which is so painful. I can’t let anyone come near me. I will end up hurting them.”

Sanjana calmly said, “So what are you going to do in your life? If not me, someone should be your wife right?” Sailesh gave an oblivious stare and said, “That’s what puzzles me. See, you are cute, smart, and caring. Any guy would die to be with you and here you are waiting for my response since 2 years and it is all so puzzling to me.” Sanjana got up to leave and she said, “Okay, I got to go home. I told mom, I will assist her in furniture shopping. Before I go, I want to tell you something – ‘life is like a jigsaw puzzle, you have to see the whole picture, then put it together piece by piece!’ Do this first; your grey area will fade by itself.”

That evening while Sanjana returned home from shopping her phone buzzed with WhatsApp message from Sailesh, which read;

“Hey, I saw the whole picture of the jigsaw Puzzle. Now I should work it out piece by piece.”

She replied, “Great! So where are your pieces?”

He said, “The most important piece is missing or maybe misaligned.”

Sanjana asked, “What is that? or Who is that? Let me guess, Aparna?”

He promptly replied, You are the important piece in my jigsaw puzzle which is misaligned. So I must start with you.”

She was amused and confused. She replied, “Means? :O .”

He sent, “Can we go on a date?”

This short piece of story was written as a response to the Wednesday prompt 2014-6 by Write Tribe.

Love & Cheers,

S(t)ri,

I am S(t)ri 

15 thoughts on “Life, Love, and the Jigsaw Puzzle

  1. Nibhz says:

    nicely written! a short but nice story! we do have to move on with our life.. sometimes for ourselves or sometimes for the people in our life… its later in life that we realize that everything happens for a reason.. the big beautiful picture!

    Like

Add your thoughts! They will make me Smile :)

